Hard to see I know….

These pictures are of a sock knitting needle… an old one I received from family at Christmas. I usually get old sewing notions, knitting needles, old laces, etc. from those that know me well, and this was in one such collection this holiday.

This needle amused me no end. On one spot it says “Boye, 1, USA” which is what you would hope to see on the needle. But right below, which is what I tried to snap a photo of, is the word “Non-inflammable”.

Is there a concern that if I knit so fast the 2 sticks rubbing together might alight? Or, are knitters so obssessed with their craft that should the worst happen, do they want their needles to survive the conflagration?

Any one know why a knitting needle might need to proudly boast that it is non-inflammable?

One thought on “Hard to see I know….

Leave a Reply

