Dec. 9th *Mary did you know?

I have already written about our radio station that plays holiday music all day. Another of my favorite songs is a relatively new song…not one I grew up with, but one that has touched me deeply as a mother.

Mary, did you know
That your baby boy will one day walk on water?
Did you know
That your baby boy will save our sons and daughters?
Did you know
That your baby boy has come to make you new?
This child that youve delivered
Will soon deliver you

 

Mary, did you know
That your baby boy will give sight to a blind man?
Did you know
That your baby boy will calm a storm with his hand?
Did you know
That your baby boy has walked where angels trod?
And when you kiss your little boy
Youve kissed the face of god

 

Mary, did you know?
The blind will see
The deaf will hear
And the dead will live again
The lame will leap
The dumb will speak
The praises of the lamb

 

Mary, did you know
That your baby boy is lord of all creation?
Did you know
That your baby boy will one day rules the nations?
Did you know
That your baby boy is heavens perfect lamb?
This sleeping child youre holding
Is the great I am

I think one reason this song hits me is that it speaks of the potential in our children. We give birth, and we hope and pray that we raise them right. But truly, who knows the path they will walk as adults.. who knows the mark they will make in the world? Could Mary have known?

This holiday there are mothers who have sent their sons and daughters to combat. There are mothers whose sons and daughters are doctors, mending people. There are mothers whose sons and daughters are parents themselves, providing the world with the next generation. Teachers, politicians, plumbers… each child making their mark on the world.

When we hold our tiny babies, it can be so awe inspiring to look at them, and wonder who and what they will be. And I wonder if there was ever a time when Mary wished her son was something else. I think it is human to want our children to have an easy life, a safe life… I so admire the women who let their children become people whose lives are endangered by what they do…peacekeepers and soldiers, missionaries and diplomats, even teachers sometimes, firefighters and policemen… how do we let our children go, to go out in the world and do their thing, contribute their piece to the fabric of life.

I think we all want our children to be fine upstanding moral citizens of the world… but for those mothers (and fathers too…) whose children are willing to lay down their lives for their beliefs…whatever they are… I stand in awe and admiration of the effort it took to raise and instill such principals, and the effort it took to let them go.

I think sometimes it is better that we don’t know. I continue to hope and pray for my own children.. and I ask for prayers for myself, that I can let them become what they are meant to be, and let go when the time is right. img_0841.jpg

Part of an old Nativity set belonging to my grandmother. My mom played with it when she was young, and then my sister and I did. Joseph is sadly missing, but it is a pleasure to get these out each year and enjoy the memories that they bring.

Leave a Reply

