The day got away from me… and if I am to keep to my resolutions, I better head to bed…

Resolutions for 2008:

Over the holiday I realized that I really need to stop thinking of work life and home life. Reality is, I am a working out of the home mother 9 months of the year, and part of my life cannot stop and be on hold until the summer break and Christmas holiday. I put off so many things because I am tired, because there is not time, because, because…but really, there are nooks and crannies of time that do not get utilized, and small jobs that could be done in those times fill the precious holiday minutes. I also cannot put off health issues until the holidays… health is a 365 a day thing.

Therefore, the overarching resolution is to continue to work on the balance of life : eliminate the notion from my head that I can always put things off until work is out of the way. Work is going to be part of my life for the next few years, and I need to find better ways to incorporate the everyday, and not hope it will all wait until I retire. At the same time, I am not superwoman, and really need to achieve a balance.

So, there are broader categories to my resolutions, and they look like everyone else’s, fine tuned for me.

Health: I need exercise, and I need to stop using work as an excuse not to do it. I need to eat better, and I need to stop using work stress as an excuse to munch out. At 41, there are things that need seeing to if I am to be in tip top shape for retirement. So, finding ways to exercise will be important. Yes, I am on my feet all day teaching, but this is not the same. And it may not be a full fledged routine….but a simple weekend hike in the woods, like we took today, will burn calories, clear my head, make me feel better. Meals and snacks for the family are generally pretty healthy, I just need to be better myself. And planning ahead for healthy meals when the schedule is tight is also something to improve. And sleep. I need more sleep. I need to let go at night and get to bed early so I can be all I can be the next day.

Spirit: I have to find time to nurture the soul. I stepped back from several of my church duties due to my surgery, and to the fact that I work. And while I am not ready to resume that sort of thing, I do need to find some way to keep myself in the loop, or I become a hermit. And my soul feels shrivelly. (Yes, I know that is not a word) Beyond the religious side of my spirit, I also need to nurture that creative part of my soul… handwork, knitting, sewing, etc. I cleared my work area over the holiday, and lined up large and small projects.. I just need to be able to take 5 minutes and stitch on a button when things are hectic… or take a sock to knit with me when we go on a hike. There is always a short stop at the top of our mountain on which to knit a sock.

Family: This year, our oldest son will begin High School, and in the next few months we will be having tests/evaluations to help decide which is his best track. As a dyslexic, the academic world is fraught with mine fields, and we want to send him off prepared as best we can. So that will be a big focus this spring. Then this summer I would like to spend some time visiting my family and traveling with my kids. So those are the goals on that horizon.

I know that resolutions can quickly be broken.. they are a constant uphill battle usually. And many things can come along and wash them away…after all,

‘The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men

Gang aft a-gley.”

And tomorrow I face a repeat mammogram because the first requires more looking. I am hoping the second of January does not cause me to have to redo my resolutions. But if it does, then that is the entire point.

To always be going forward with a plan, in the hopes of finally arriving at the destination of choice.

So here’s to 2008, and some photos of today’s hike, in an effort to start on the exercise goal… lovely walk with family at a local state park.img_1043.jpg
There is a lucky penny in the hole of the tree….
img_1065.jpg

Enjoying a new telescoping walking stick…

img_1061.jpgimg_1071.jpgimg_1062.jpg

Beauty all around us….

2 thoughts on “The day got away from me… and if I am to keep to my resolutions, I better head to bed…

Leave a Reply

