Keeping it in perspective…

This is a phrase that runs through my head daily… as I face work stress and home stress, I have to keep reminding myself to keep things in perspective, because I am usually making mountains out of molehills, or trying to see a huge picture at once, when really, just the next hour is all I need to worry about.

As I took pictures this week, I had a couple of other revelations about perspective I thought I would share.

Firstly, knitting time. I often feel as if my creative time is non existent… so many things/projects/ideas, and no time to fulfill them, often makes me feel as if I am paralyzed… and I do not take advantage of the 5 or 10 minutes that tend to lie around unclaimed. So I have been working to change that. Last week, I decided to begin something I have wanted to do for a while, which was knit up some yarn my SIL gave me. The yarn is 100% pure new wool from the New Lanark Mill in Great Britain somewhere. (Maybe Scotland.. not sure Edited to say I found a link to it, and it is indeed in Scotland!) In any case, she bought it thinking she might try knitting, and then found she didn’t think it was so appealing after all, and gave me the yarn. What has kept me from doing something with it has been baseball, teaching, laundry, errands, homework help, the idea of winding it.

Ball of yarn....

Here is is, all wound finally. I have no ball winder, so had to do this by hand. Looks like an ordinary yarn ball, so why did it take me so long? Well, to put it in perspective:

Yarn ball shown in scale with eggs and water glass...

Yes, it is a monster ball of yarn. That is a tall tea glass next to it, and some of our eggs, to give a better idea of how large that ball is. 1100 grams of yarn approximately. That is why it took so long to wind it. The other skein is not done yet.

Now that it is wound, I use random minutes to work on the Cardigan for Arwen… a lot of stockinette to knit, which is perfect for laying down and picking up later. Cannot wait to get to the cables. The yarn is still very lanolin rich.. so my hands feel soft when I knit.

I also feel frustrated with my gardening time. This week, a very late freeze hit, and this was the result:

Poor pepper plant

A freeze, after our last annual frost date (April 5th) on April 15th!!! Arggh. I get so little time in the garden.. of course, this was the earliest I had ever planted pepper plants. I usually wait til May. But, to keep it in perspective, things are coming up nicely, if I will only cut myself some slack and enjoy:

Lettuces

Nasturtium seedlings!

Things are coming up nicely. Nasturtiums and sweet peas. Onions and broccoli and sprouts. Lettuces of all sorts. Leeks, beets, carrots and chard. Now off to help youngest plant a sunflower garden in a corner.

But just to keep it real, and keep me humble:

Garden disaster

It isn’t all beauty around here. This lovely crop of weeds used to hold cosmos, coreopsis, larkspur, nigella…but it was a bed that got neglected last fall after my surgery. And now, the thought of pulling all those weeds…sigh. But soon… soon.

(This post was planned for earlier than I got around to publishing it. There are a couple of other posts in the pipeline…stay tuned!)

3 thoughts on “Keeping it in perspective…

  1. I understand what you’re saying. I never feel that there are enough hours in a day for all that I want to do. I’ve been on vacation from work this week, and hoping I can keep my perspective when I go back – not become so wrapped up in the daily chores that I never get around do doing what’s important to me.

Leave a Reply

