Last few days of summer break….

Unfortunately, teachers really do not have “summers off”. I have attended some early meetings this past week, plus I am spending several hours every day like this:

)
Knee deep in geometry. πŸ™‚

But before you get all weepy for me, πŸ˜‰ I have had time for some of this:

Leaf Lace Socks, all done
Leaf Lace Socks, all done

I finished my Leaf Lace Socks, by Evelyn Clark (Fibertrends) They are scrumptious, and I cannot wait for the NC autumn to roar in with some cooler weather. Okay, I am prepared to wait until Aug 18th, but not a day later. Details are on Ravelry.

And some more fun sock photos, just because I felt like it…

Up close, in the flower bed
Up close, in the flower bed
The middle son's pond garden has flourished this summer!
The middle son's pond garden has flourished this summer!
Frolicking with the ferns...
Frolicking with the ferns...

Okay, that is all the time I have for that… because, look what is waiting for me….

Not the same photo from the other day.. new tomatoes from the garden...
Not the same photo from the other day.. new tomatoes from the garden...
Lovely and big...
Lovely and big...

I grow tomatoes every year, but they still fascinate me. And this year, despite the recent weeks absent of rain, they have been large and very meaty…very few seeds. They are making into some lovely sauce.

But before the sauce making, and before getting back to the books:

Small brioche...jam and butter. Yumm.
Small brioche...jam and butter. Yumm.
2 thoughts on “Last few days of summer break….

  1. Oh, I love your leaf green socks! They’re gorgeous. I could be persuaded to extend my knitting skills past knit and purl if it meant I could own a pair of socks like these for next winter.

  2. I’m sorry your summer is coming to a close. School here doesn’t start until after Labor Day. I love the green socks, it is such a pretty pattern. Friends from Finland sent us hand-knit socks one Christmas, and yours remind me of those. Your tomatoes look great – we are still waiting for ours to ripen.

Leave a Reply

