My weekends always get away from me….

SO many things on the to do list. It is easy to get overwhelmed, or to feel as if nothing was done if the entire list was not wiped out. But things did get done, progress was made, somehow it will all work out.

This weekend was a green and orange weekend.

Preparing for the week, gathering the lunch fruit and cleaning the counters and putting out the nasturtiums still growing in the garden, led to an autumnal orange glow about the place.

Orange - seasonal and bright...
Orange - seasonal and bright...

There was orange in the stew I started early this morning, to nourish us this week.

Beef, leek and carrot stew, with red wine...
Beef, leek and carrot stew, with red wine...

And there was orange in the dessert I made for potluck this week…. carrot cake with walnuts, moist and yummy.

Nibble nibble mouskin... who has been nibbling at my cake?
Nibble nibble mouskin... who has been nibbling at my cake?

I made the cakes Saturday night – one for the potluck, and one for home. I iced them with cream cheese frosting – only 3/4ths of each cake gets iced due to dairy issues for some members of our household – early this morning. I then had to a) have a taste, for quality control and b) have breakfast – what better than carrot cake with walnuts? Veggie, dairy, healthy fat nuts… with a cup of Earl Grey… mmmm.

Of course, there is still quite a bit of green…

Green tomatoes from expiring vines...
Green tomatoes from expiring vines...
Tomatillos shed from their papery outer coverings...
Tomatillos shed from their papery outer coverings...
And some orange and red tomatoes....
And some orange and red tomatoes....

When the youngest and I worked for three hours in the garden, we dug up tons of weeds that have grown up since school started. We pulled up tomato plants that were getting past it, although there are still quite a few green tomatoes left. I think we will be doing a green tomato gratin, or some good old fried green tomatoes, or even a mock apple pie made with green tomatoes soon. We planted out kohlrabi and cabbage and broccoli plants, harvested the tomatillos that volunteer everywhere…trimmed back some raspberry canes.. and left so much more that could be done!

But most of the day was spent marking papers and getting ready for a hectic school week ahead – open house, staff development, county meetings… I am already looking forward to next weekend I’m afraid.

MMMMM.....
MMMMM.....
2 thoughts on “My weekends always get away from me….

  1. That stew looks yummy. I have a lamb, carrot and leek stew in my crockpot today!

    Loving your autumnal oranges, as we head into spring greens.

    Take care my friend. I always read, although don’t get to comment often these days.

Leave a Reply

