Season of music….a day in my life.

Today is A Day in My Life, and also Gaudete Sunday. Here are some quick reflections.

We have 5 school days left in what has been a toughish semester. Not the worst ever, but tough. And the week before holidays is always tough on everyone. For me, I feel the stress of work, and a sense of getting behind on holiday preparations. I have learned to let go of some things, and prioritize well, but stress relievers are always helpful right about now.

So I started my day with tea and toast in bed with a good book. Reading a Hamish MacBeth Mystery (MC Beaton). Then I was up and helped the middle son make a felt bird that will be sewn on a stocking with birds from other kids in his class as a gift for his teacher.

Once he was well underway, I roasted a turkey, and set some chicken pieces to brine. I am learning the art of cooking on the weekend for the week ahead. It makes for a much easier time when I get home. Last week we ate chili and stew all week, so this time around we are going for poultry.

In between I was running laundry… shifting loads, folding. Then it was time for my own work. Several hours of lesson planning and marking and getting ready for the week which will include a meeting first thing tomorrow about Maths courses in general, a formal observation and conference for that tomorrow, and a holiday breakfast on Friday, along with the usual tutoring and subject meetings and, oh yeah, teaching.

The boys all went down to the workshop to work on Christmas gifts.. so the house was quiet. I managed to fit in some yoga, fried all that chicken, roasted potatoes, cleaned up after my cooking, sweep, fold more laundry, hang the delicates to dry, eat dinner with my family, and help with homework.

Now the evening is ahead, and hopefully more reading and some tea and an early night, so I can be positive and cheery and strong in the face of students who have visions of holidays in their head, rather than the quadratic formula.

During this time each year, music becomes integrated into our day. Last year’s Advent entries included several favorite Christmas Carols that I love to listen to. (See here, or here) But Christmas carols are not the only source of inspiration for me this year.. .

Being such a stressful time in the school year, I turn to my Gregorian chant CD’s while I work in the kitchen. Today, while I made the double batch of fried chicken, their mellowness helped keep my mind focused on being in the moment, rather than racing ahead. I could being to panic about the cards and gifts and things not yet done. But it will have to keep. Friday I will tackle those issues. Today, my head still needs to be in the alg/geom/mothering family game.

I listen to Pandora radio while I work at the computer.. and this year, this song from the Goo Goo Dolls has been a source of comfort and calm. After the tumult of the fall, and the feeling of Hope which comes with this Holy Season, these words inspire and comfort. Not the traditional holiday song, but

And you asked me what I want this year
and I try to make this kind and clear
just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days
’cause I don’t need boxes wrapped in strings
and designer love and empty things
just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days

So take these words and sing out loud
’cause everyone is forgiven now
’cause tonight’s the night the world begins again

I need some place simple where we could live
and something only you can give
and that’s faith and trust and peace while we’re alive
and the one poor child who saved this world
and there’s ten million more who probably could
if we all just stopped and said a prayer for them

So take these words and sing out loud
’cause everyone is forgiven now
’cause tonight’s the night the world begins again

I wish everyone was loved tonight
and somehow stop this endless fight
just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days

So take these words and sing out loud
’cause everyone is forgiven now
’cause tonight’s the night the world begins again

’cause tonight’s the night the world begins again

Better Days Ahead.. that is the theme sticking in my mind this holiday… wishing all those around the world, particularly those hurting..better days ahead. HOPE was born on Christmas day.. we can hope it will be so this year as well.

2 thoughts on “Season of music….a day in my life.

  1. Sounds like a productive day. Ours was very busy. I’m about to download all the photos and get up my “day in a life.” Have a good last week of school. Tie some mistletoe on those quadratic equations 🙂

Leave a Reply

