Season of Love

Usually, right around the first of the year, we have a January Thaw… where the weather warms up to the point we are outside in shorts and t-shirts, usually working/tilling the garden, and then the cool returns. We did not really get that this year, until this weekend, which if the first of February. Yesterday part of the pond was still frozen over from recent very cold nights, but today, but it climbed to 70+, and today was a repeat of yesterday. Sunny and glorious. We let the fire die out, put the screens in the doors, and enjoyed the warmth. Loving the breezes, loving the clean smell in the house, loving the silence without the woodstove fan blowing… loving being a family home for the weekend.

Life continues busy here. The school semester is settling in nicely. There has been time for knitting.

Leaf Lace Shawl
Leaf Lace Shawl

Finished a Leaf Lace Shawl for my sister who just came home from her latest hospital stay. Her birthday was at the end of January, so I need to get this in the mail. Sister love, wrapped up in yarn.

img_6083-1

I started a Truly Tasha shawl for myself – a more utilitarian shawl for running out to the laundry in, and so forth. I have a Leaf Lace Shawl as well, but I see that as more dress up. This shawl will also remind me to “Take Joy” in my everyday duties.

img_6084-1

img_6088And of course, as it is the season of love, helping the youngest come up with Valentines for his class was on the list of to-dos. As second graders, they are currently in love with their new reading skills. So we made bookmarks. To celebrate a love of reading, and a love of classmates. The youngest came up with turning the o’s into hearts on his own. Sweet.

A bookmark for my Valentine
A bookmark for my Valentine

Love… makes the world go round, makes the day seem easier, soothes a sore head and can mend a broken heart. I am glad I have so much love in my life.

One thought on “Season of Love

Leave a Reply

