34 degrees and raining….

March is such a tempestuous month. We had snow bring us in. We broke a record with heat the next week. And just when we were enjoying the sun on the skin, the icy rain returns. But birthing new life is never easy.. it requires laborious waves before the joyful entry of new life.

So, I spent this morning going through the monsoon to the get the groceries for the week. Once you buy food for the week, it must be put away. This required cleaning and reorganizing the fridge shelves. This required washing bowls and cleaning shelves. This required unloading the dishes from the dishwasher, reloading, washing the pans in the sink, washing the shelves of the fridge, and once all that was ship shape, the sink needed cleaning as did the floor. Whew. Good work for a rainy cold morning.

And now for a break. To finish off my last post. When last I wrote, it was to show off my lovely surprise. I did resist the urge to run out and buy new woodworking magazines and leave them about with appropriate pages marked… but I do think the Easter bunny might leave a few in the woods where we hunt eggs. Wink…

I just had to drape lovely things on my new quilt rack, and so I grabbed 2 things that I had just recently handled as I started some spring cleaning. One was my grandmothers handkerchief box. I had just dusted it, and fondled all the prettiness as I cleaned my dresser that week. So I took out the top few and enjoyed trying to photograph them in the sun. The wind was quite breezy that day, so my youngest was kept busy holding them on the rack until the wind died, and catching escapees as needed.

img_6304My great grandmother (Paula) was one of 12 children of Lutheran missionaries that settled in the hill country of Texas at the turn of the century. Coming from Germany to help form the German settlements still thriving. My great grandmother and 7 other siblings survived to ancient adulthood… she herself died at age 108. For most of my childhood weekends, summers, holidays were spent traveling to visit her and her 3 sisters, Annie, Louise, Augusta. Annie was the eldest of the 4, and she was a crocheter. Supposedly, a favorite gift to give Annie for Christmas was fine linen handkerchiefs. She would then “regift” them later for birthdays, Christmas, embellished with beautiful crochet edging. She also must have purchased handkerchiefs on her own for such adornment, because I have a fine collection of monogrammed handkerchiefs, and the monogramming is identical from hankie to hankie.. mass produced in other words.

My grandmother, Frances, was Paula’s only daughter, and she gave me her collection of hankies, which included some of my great grandmother’s, and some of my grandfather’s. There are everyday hankies, there are very fancy Sunday hankies, and I even have her fanciest one, the one she carried at her wedding, which she gave to me when I married to carry at mine.

My grandmother Frances..edging done by Annie.
My grandmother Frances..edging done by Annie.
My great grandmother Paula - edging by Annie
My great grandmother Paula - edging by Annie
An everyday hankie, and one of Paula's - I have several with the same monogram, but different edges.
An everyday hankie, and one of Paula's - I have several with the same monogram, but different edges.

img_6301

img_63172
Close-up of the delicate edge work that Annie continued well into her nineties.
One that she tatted rather than crocheted - she loved the variegated threads. This was an everyday hankie!
One that she tatted rather than crocheted - she loved the variegated threads. This was an everyday hankie!
Drawn threadwork hankie.. very lovely.
Drawn threadwork hankie.. very lovely.

img_6324These are just a few of a large collection I have. My mother collected state hankies, and I have some of those as well, with Annie’s crocheted edgings. I love to lay them all out… I would love to use some of them.. and yet, the hours and love that went into the edgings… I love hanging on to that as well…

2 thoughts on “34 degrees and raining….

  1. Thanks for sharing those. They are so beautiful and the family connection is so meaningful it’s bringing tears to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

