Packing continues….

The summer days have gotten into a nice rhythm of sorts. I have my school work spread out in my office, and I put in a couple of hours there. I am also trying to fit in 30 minutes of cardio 5 days a week. SO far, so sore.

The rest of the time is either doing housework, or packing. All of this packing may seem a bit silly..afterall, we are moving 50 feet away. But, the packing is at this point a way to do a 13 year spring clean.

We have been packed into this house 13 years, and there are things we no longer need, things that are broken, things outgrown. I don’t want those things to travel with us to the new house. So, I go to a shelf or closet where there are things we are not needing.. attic stuff for instance. And I go through, sort, tidy, before sealing a box which then gets removed to the inlaws garage storage. (A nice upstairs room of their new detached garage). These things are the first things out, and can be the last things in.. the flannel sheets, the boys main lesson books, the Christmas decorations, etc.

But as I go, there is also a bit of “fixing” to do. At this point, delays in paperwork mean we are pushing back occupancy of the new house, sigh. The moving in will be during the busy school year, sigh. So, while I have time, and cannot paint or plant new gardens or unpack my new kitchen, I am repairing things as they come through my hands.

Mrs. Thaw, a wiseman, and a shepherd boy
Mrs. Thaw, a wiseman, and a shepherd boy

Here are some prime examples of my time spent yesterday. These three figures are part of our nature table. I made them when my boys were small, in those brief napping hours. As a result, the wiseman and Mrs. Thaw were never completed. Neither has hands, and both needed some repair. We use them year after year in this state, but it won’t do for the new shiny house. The little shepherd boy was a victim of the new puppy for E’s 9th Christmas present. His foot had been torn off and the hair torn a bit.

So, rather than just pack them, they all got a mend.

Mrs. Thaw, freshened up, with new hands to hold her twig broom to sweep away winter each spring.
Mrs. Thaw, freshened up, with new hands to hold her twig broom to sweep away winter each spring.
Wiseman, with new hands, crown and hair fixed
Wiseman, with new hands, crown and hair fixed
Shepherd boy, hair fixed, foot repaired, ready to be dazzled in the field with his flock and the angels.
Shepherd boy, hair fixed, foot repaired, ready to be dazzled in the field with his flock and the angels.

Feels good… and several of my blouses now have all their buttons again.

Back to packing…..

IMG_0190

IMG_0189

One thought on “Packing continues….

Leave a Reply

