Flurry of Posts 2 – Sewing…

2 summers ago I was getting ready to have major surgery that was supposed to have me out of action for 9 weeks or more. So, I was making freezer meals, prepping my school classroom, cleaning and doing all those things necessary to keep the family running smoothly while I was out of action. At that time, I cut out a bunch of shirts I planned to sew.. I hoped that during my recovery I would be able to sit at my sewing machine for short spurts. I knew I would not be able to crawl around cutting out fabric, but I thought I would be able to sit a sew – even just a few seams at a time.

Well, it didn’t really work that way. I was able to do lots of knitting, but not the sewing so much. So I had 2 shirts sitting there waiting to be stitched together. And in preparation for the move, I have been trying to complete just such projects.So 2 blouses are now complete and I am enjoying wearing them.

One is Butterick B4168 – now discontinued but still available. Here is the pic from the pattern envelope:

B4168My version is made of a plain purple cotton fabric… lovely and cool.

IMG_0621

The second is New Look 6598.

6598 6598fb

This is not a pattern for beginners.. the collar is tricky and the instructions are sparse. Also, my buttonholes are in the wrong place.. too far over. But the blouse is wearable, and I have enjoyed it this summer. These are not the best pictures of it.. but it is a lovely floral print. It reminded me of the Liberty of London fabrics I had viewed at the posh shop in town… but were too expensive. This was a sale remnant on the Joanne’s counter.

IMG_0618

Love the notch on the sleeve
Love the notch on the sleeve

IMG_0620

Leave a Reply

