December 3rd….

Not sure how this day is going to go. It is my birthday, but I am having the weepies. It’s just too much right now.

My mother did call to remind me of a cake my sister made for me when I was in high school. It came from a Southern Home Cook Book I think.. in any case, it was in the shape of a cheeseburger. She baked and decorated it.. she must have been about 12 or 13, and it looked really good, just like the picture. It was a funny, hilarious birthday cake.

Fortunately, the family keeps me in the here and now. There is a youngest son learning cursive writing at school, and I know he has made my birthday card in cursive because he kept asking me to help him learn the letters they had not covered yet, “you know mom, like if I want to write birthday or something like that.”

And the middle son, at 13, is about to attend his first bar mitzvah for a lifelong friend. And has decided he needs a suit. So suit shopping might be on the agenda.

And there is a basketball game. And my own work, and ….

But there will be those quiet moments, when I think I will barely be able to face my own thoughts.

Sunset from our new dining room.
One thought on “December 3rd….

Leave a Reply

