Welcome 2010

Well, there is no longer any use denying it. 2010 is not only here, it is three days gone practically. I had a bit of a tough time watching 2009 roll out. You see, it was the last year my sister was alive. 2010 will not belong to her, except in our memories. And I wasn’t ready for that realization. I still do not believe she is gone. But my BIL gave me a package on New Year’s Eve containing some old pictures of the 2 of us together, which helped quite a bit. Most of the pictures are quite old, but those memories were fun to recall.

So, it is now time to wrap up the holiday. The trouble with keeping 2 blogs is that I either have time for one or the other, but never really both during the school year. And so I did a good job of updating the New House blog for family living far away, but not this one.  So today the plan is to wrap up the holiday and prepare to return to work tomorrow…and updating this blog is a part of that.

2009:

Eldest completed his freshman year and became a sophomore. Had his first girlfriend.. and second.. and now third…Began to spend a lot of time on the phone. Is now taller than his dad.

Middle child became a teenager. Made the varsity basketball team as a 7th grader. Had a very successful baseball season. Inducted into Order of the Arrow in boy scouts and took up Indian drumming. Became very proficient on the Diablo.

Youngest child made the All Star baseball team. Learned to tell time and make measurements in school and continues to be obsessed with numbers and stats of all sorts. Reads more to himself now than being read to. Is reading long books now, not just beginning readers. Currently reading through Charlotte’s Web.

Family has survived building a new house. Both parents have survived jobwise in the current economy.

ON the horizon for 2010:

Eldest: drivers permit

Middle: Sea Base Camp for boy scouts this summer

Youngest: Child pitch baseball this spring

Me: Continued efforts to get physically fit.. walking, exercise, flexibility. This helps so much with my stress level, and at my age, it is time to get behind this and serious about it.

Gardens: After neglect last summer due to house building, it will be time for serious garden work this spring/summer. We began some landscaping work this holiday.

And really, who knows what else is ahead. It is a grand adventure, this thing we call life.

Here is some inspiration for my 2010:

From Fra Giovanni, I offer up 2 different versions of his Christmas letter, which Tasha Tudor also took from:

I salute you. I am your friend and my love for you goes deep. There is nothing I can give you which you have not got. But there is much, very much, that while I cannot give it, you can take. No heaven can come to us unless our hearts find rest in today. Take heaven! No peace lies in the future which is not hidden in this present little instance. Take peace! The gloom of the world is but a shadow. Behind it, yet within our reach, is joy. Take joy! Life is so full of meaning and purpose, so full of beauty . . . that you will find earth but cloaks your heaven. Courage then to claim it, that is all! . . . And so I greet you, with profound esteem and with the prayer that for you, now and forever, the day breaks and the shadows flee away.

Or this version:

I salute you. I am your friend, and my love for you goes deep.  There is nothing I can give you which you have not. But there is much, very much, that, while I cannot give it, you can take. No heaven can come to us unless our hearts find rest in it today. Take heaven! No peace lies in the future which is not hidden in this present little instant.

Take peace! The gloom of the world is but a shadow. Behind it, yet within our reach, is joy. There is radiance and glory in darkness, could we but see.  And to see, we have only to look. I beseech you to look!

Life is so generous a giver. But we, judging its gifts by their covering, cast them away as ugly or heavy or hard. Remove the covering, and you will find beneath it a living splendor, woven of love by wisdom, with power. Welcome it, grasp it, and you touch the angel’s hand that brings it to you.

Everything we call a trial, a sorrow or a duty, believe me, that angel’s hand is there. The gift is there and the wonder of an overshadowing presence. Your joys, too, be not content with them as joys. They, too, conceal diviner gifts.

Life is so full of meaning and purpose, so full of beauty beneath its covering, that you will find earth but cloaks your heaven. Courage then to claim it; that is all! But courage you have, and the knowledge that we are pilgrims together, wending through unknown country home.

And then there is this pearl, which I read this morning on Mennonite Girls Can Cook:

Unmapped Miles Ahead

I wrap up
the last day of December.
Ahead hang months
Of unmapped miles.
Inside me
eagerness
tangles with trepidation.
Questions
rim my heart:
What Trial?
What Triumph?
What will meet me tomorrow?

Creator of our chronology-
You who set up seasons
split light from night
walked timelines in both directions-
You know what’s waiting.

Hold my hours in Your hands
tug me toward right
tap my shoulder and whisper instructions
fill my heart with Your directions.
I want to walk these days
with You.

Joan Rae Mills

I guess the bottom line is that I want to embrace life. I need to be fully engaged in my life and that of my family. I want to embrace the ups and downs and the big moments and small ones, whatever 2010 happens to bring.

Happy New Year One and All!

One thought on “Welcome 2010

Leave a Reply

